Tiruvannamalai Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Tiruvannamalai legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BSP, BJP and IJK.

In the last assembly elections in 2011, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK a good lead. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the last assembly election.

The DMK, banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency. The AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes. It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which different categories of people will decide the verdict.

Tiruvannamalai Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Pandian,L PMK 7916
Manikandan,S DMDK 5075
Venkatachalapathi,K BJP 1935
None of the Above None of the Above 1803
Kamalakkannan,J Naam Tamilar Katchi 1686
Jameel Basha,J IND 507
Rajan,K IND 362
Suguna Pandian,A.R. IND 303
Sivaprakash,K BSP 268
Lakshmanadoss,K IND 181
Kothandapani,B IND 173
Rajaram,G Gokula Makkal Katchi 155
Santhi,E IND 151
Selvam,K IND 127
Jayakanthan,K Gandhiya Makkal Iyakkam 127
Sinuvasan,R IND 94
Sakthivel,P IND 90
Venkatesan,A SP 87
Muniyammal,J IND 87
Ganeshkumar,M IND 76

Electoral History and Background

Tiruvannamalai assembly constituency is a town in the administered by a special grade municipality with administrative headquarters of Tiruvannamalai District. Tiruvannamalai is a Lok Sabha constituency that was created during 2008 assembly delimitation from former Tirupattur constituency.

In 2011 assembly election E .V. Velu of DMK got elected with 84802 votes. S. Ramachandran of AIADMK got 79676 votes and came second.