Tiruttani Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Tiruttani legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BJP, BSP, INC, JMM, IJK and PBM.

In the last parliamentary elections in 2014, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK candidate P. Venugopal a good lead of around 323430 votes. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the general election of 2014.

Banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK, the DMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency, the AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes.

Tiruttani Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Narasimhan P M AIADMK Won
Chidambaram A G INC 69904
Vaithilingam A PMK 29596
Krishnamurthy D DMDK 15648
Chakravarthy. M BJP 5525
None of the Above None of the Above 2076
Jaibaskaran S BSP 1445
Prabu S Naam Tamilar Katchi 1077
Rajeshkumar V IND 875
Krishnamoorthy R IND 748
Rajagopal N IND 723
Babu K IND 643
Pratheep M IND 359
Vaithiyalingam K IND 346
Narasiman P IND 247
Thukkaram N IND 152

Electoral History and Background

Arun Subramanian. M of DMDK party won this constituency in the assembly elections of 2011 getting 95918 votes. In the previous assembly elections of 2006 the AIADMK party won the constituency. PMK party won the constituency during the assembly elections of 2001. The ADK party has won for times in this constituency three times consecutively. DMK party has also won this constituency three times.

This constituency is a taluk in Tiruvallur district. There are 65 villages in Tiruttani taluk of Tiruvallur district. The constituency is agriculture dependant. It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which primarily workers and farmers as voters will decide the verdict.