Tiruppur (South) Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Tiruppur legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BJP, BSP and IJK.

In the last assembly elections in 2011, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK a good lead. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the last assembly election.

The DMK, banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency. The AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes. It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which different categories of people will decide the verdict.

Tiruppur-South Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Gunasekaran S AIADMK Won
Selvaraj K DMK 57418
Thangavel. K CPM 13597
Point Mani N BJP 7640
Basheer Ahamed M SDPI 2547
Shanmugasundaram K Naam Tamilar Katchi 2506
None of the Above None of the Above 2445
Velumani K KMDK 1166
Sayed Masnsoor Husain PMK 1093
Kaliswaran S NCP 327
Mohamed Rafiq M IND 320
Ravikumar M IND 280
Ibrahim WPI 231
Ramesh R SHS 209
Hariharan (A) Hariharasudan M Gandhiya Makkal Iyakkam 208
Ravi S BSP 201
Baskar L IND 194
Kesavamurthy N IND 188
Mohamed Gowas M IND 135
Sathyamoorthy A IND 110

Electoral History and Background

Tiruppur is the legislative assembly that includes the city, Tiruppur. Tiruppur assembly constituency was part of Coimbatore parliamentary constituency. It was a two-member constituency in 1952 election. Owing to the enormous urban agglomeration in the Tiruppur city, Tiruppur (State Assembly Constituency) is now bifurcated into Tiruppur North and Tiruppur South constituencies.

Tiruppur South assembly constituency is newly formed after constituency delimitations 2008. It is included in the Tiruppur parliamentary constituency. In 2011 election K. Thangavel of Communist Party of India (Marxist) won from here.