Tirupathur Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Tirupathur legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BJP, BSP, IJK and LSP.

In the last parliamentary elections in 2014, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK candidate P.R. Senthilnathan a good lead of around 225144 votes. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the general election of 2014.

Banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK, the DMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency, the AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes.

Tirupathur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Raja.T.K PMK 12227
Harikrishnan.K DMDK 3968
Govindarajan. V BJP 1831
None of the Above None of the Above 1193
Raja.T IND 1051
Raja.K IND 789
Vijayan.E Naam Tamilar Katchi 691
Neelaveni. P BSP 574
Vankatesan. M KMDK 281
Palani.M IND 271
Ramesh.T.P IND 230
Samuelbakyaraj.A PPI (S) 203
Kumar.T IND 166
Kumar.N IND 162
Sakthi.V Vijaya Bharatha Makkal (People) Par 159
Sankar. S UCPI 112

Electoral History and Background

Periyakaruppan, KR of the AIADMK party won this constituency in the assembly elections of 2011.

The constituency of Thiruppattur is part of Sivaganga Lok Sabha Constituency in Sivaganga district. It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which primarily agricultural related voters will decide the verdict.