Tirunelveli Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Tirunelveli legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BJP, BSP, CPI, JMM and IJK.

In the last parliamentary elections in 2014, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK candidate K. R. P. Prabakaran a good lead of around 126099 votes. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the general election of 2014.

Banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK, the DMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency, the AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes.

Tirunelveli Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Lakshmanan A.L.S. DMK Won
Nainar Nagenthran AIADMK 81160
Madasamy S. DMDK 8640
Maharajan A. BJP 6017
None of the Above None of the Above 2218
Viyanarasu A. Naam Tamilar Katchi 2106
Velammal G. IND 2029
Ganesan Kannan PMK 1884
Rajkumar P. IND 1377
Balasubramanian E. BSP 507
Mallar Maharajan IND 401
Shanmuga Sundaram M. IND 289
Sudaroli S.Murugan Yadav B.Com. IND 245
Udaiyar S. IND 217
Murugan G. IND 216
Nellai Immam SP 190
Manikandan C. TMMK 182
Kamala Kannan P. IND 137

Electoral History and Background

Nainar Nagenthran of the AIADMK won the constituency in the assembly elections of 2011, after getting 86220 votes. The DMK party has had a grip over this constituency as they have won here in five assembly elections. The ADK part has won consecutively in four assembly elections from 1977 to 1986. They have won one more time in 1991 elections. The ADMK party has won once in the assembly elections of 2001.

The constituency of Tirunelveli is a city in itself. Tirunelveli has various places of worship. There are many industries in this city. This place is famous for its food products. It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which All class people, small scale industrial labourers are the related voters will decide the verdict.