Tirukkoyilur Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Tirukkoyilur legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BSP and IJK.

In the last parliamentary elections in 2014, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK candidate S. Rajendran a good lead of around 193367 votes. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the general election of 2014.

Banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK, the DMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency, the AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes.

Tirukkoyilur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Ponmudy K DMK Won
Gothandaraman G AIADMK 52516
Balasakthi PMK 18822
Ganesh G TMC(M) 15045
None of the Above None of the Above 2110
Rajesh IND 1473
Dhandapani S BJP 1178
Rajasekar D Naam Tamilar Katchi 732
Vinoth S IND 504
Palanivel S IND 461
Ganesh S IND 375
Thamilselvi D IND 347
Sapthagiri T IND 306
Suresh IND 246
Arulnehru V IND 222

Electoral History and Background

Venkatesan.L of the DMDK party won the constituency in the assembly elections of 2011 getting 78229 votes leaving behind other opponents. The closest was DMK with 69438 votes. A. S. Kumarasamy of the DMK party won the constituency in the assembly elections of 1971. E. M. Subramaniam of the Indian National Congress won the constituency in the assembly elections of 1967.

This constituency of Tirukkoyilur is a panchayat town in the district of Villipuram. This constituency has two segments of East and West Tirukkoyilur i.e. Keeliyur and Melur. This region has a historical importance. Agriculture is the prominent occupation in this region. It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which workers and agricultural related voters will decide the verdict.