Tiruchuli Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Tiruchuli legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BJP and BSP.

In the last parliamentary elections in 2014, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK candidate A. Anwhar Raajhaa a good lead of around 119324 votes. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the general election of 2014.

Banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK, the DMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency, the AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes.

It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which agricultural related voters will decide the verdict.

Tiruchuli Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Thangam Thenarasu,T. DMK Won
Dinesh Babu,K. AIADMK 63350
Raju,T. DMDK 5799
Ravirajan,B. BJP 1779
None of the Above None of the Above 1328
Vairaseeman,G. IND 1074
Palanisamy, K. Naam Tamilar Katchi 795
Siva Ilangovon BSP 576
Sekar,M. IND 506
Thangapandian IND 504
Velmurugan,U. IND 463
Manikandan, J. IND 441
Marimuthu,G. IND 264
Muniasamy,A. PMK 260
Jegan Sakkaravarthi, M. AIFB 226
Sethuramalingam, S IND 178
Chennakesavan, P. IND 95
Krishnan, P. IND 90
Kalimuthu,S. IND 87

Electoral History and Background

Thangam Thenarasu of the DMK party won this constituency in the assembly elections of 2011 getting 81613 votes, leaving behind many parties the closest on its tail was AIADMK with 61661votes.

This constituency comes in the district of Virudhanagar. The inhabitants of this constituency are dependent on agriculture.