Tiruchirappalli (East) Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Tiruchirappalli – East legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BJP, BSP, RJD and ABHM.

In the last assembly elections in 2011, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK a good lead. The current MLA of the constituency is R. Manoharan from AIADMK. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the last assembly election.

The DMK, banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency. The AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes. It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which different categories of people will decide the verdict.

Tiruchirappalli-East Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Natarajan .N. AIADMK Won
Jerome Arockiaraj .G. INC 58044
Dr. Rohaiyaah Shaik Mohamed MDMK 9694
Rajaiyan .T. BJP 7210
None of the Above None of the Above 4329
Prabu .R. Naam Tamilar Katchi 4033
Sridhar .B. PMK 1866
Raja .K. TVK 483
Srinivasan .G. IND 293
Jaikumar .N NCP 280
Venkatesan .V. Vidiyalai Thedum Indhiyargal Party 183
Robert Christy .J. PPI (S) 162
Saravana Kumar .K. IND 161
Jayanthi Mala .S. RPI 106
Ramnath Rajan .P. IND 104
Ganesan .M. IND 99

Electoral History and Background

Tiruchirappalli – I Assembly Constituency has been renamed as Tiruchirappalli East after the constituency delimitations 2008. In 2011 R. Manoharan of AIADMK won this seat.

According to the 2001 census, Tiruchirappalli East had a population of 849,604 with 419,482 males and 430,122 females or 1025 women for every 1000 men. The taluk had a literacy rate of 83.31.