Tiruchendur Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Tiruchendur legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BJP, BSP, JMM and IJK.

In the last parliamentary elections in 2014, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK candidate Jeyasingh Thiyagaraj Natterjee a good lead of around 124002 votes. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the general election of 2014.

Banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK, the DMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency, the AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes.

Tindivanam Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Anitha R Radhakrishnan DMK Won
Sarathkumar.R AIADMK 62356
Senthilkumar.S.A DMDK 6330
Jeyaraman.V BJP 4289
Gloriyan.S Naam Tamilar Katchi 2041
None of the Above None of the Above 1814
Kumara Gurupara Adithan D. PMK 578
Ganapathy Perumal.G BSP 420
Lowhirajan.M IND 216
Valampuri.P IND 141
Senthamilan.E IND 90
Ananthraj.R IND 70
Suresh.N IND 63
Sukumar.S IND 43

Electoral History and Background

In the 2011 assembly elections Anitha R Radhakrishnan of DMK party won the constituency with 68741 votes contesting with the AIADMK party member P. R Manoharan. The DMK party has won six times in the previous assembly election from this constituency. The ADK party has won this constituency thrice.

This constituency belongs to the Thoothukudi district. It is a panchayat town in the southern tip of India. It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which primarily workers, fishermen and agricultural related voters will decide the verdict.