Tindivanam Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Tindivanam legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BSP, PMK, PPI, PBM and IJK.

In the last parliamentary elections in 2014, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK candidate S. Rajendran a good lead of around 193367 votes. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the general election of 2014.

Banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK, the DMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency, the AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes.

It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which primarily Industrial Labours and agricultural related voters will decide the verdict.

Tindivanam Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Seethapathy P DMK Won
Rajendran S P AIADMK 61778
Kalidoss A PMK 29848
Udhayakumar M DMDK 14928
None of the Above None of the Above 2112
Poovazhagi B BJP 1509
Bhuvaneshwari G Naam Tamilar Katchi 908
Viswanathan S A All India Pattali Munnetra Katchi 716
Karthick R IND 489
Govindasamy A BSP 396
Meera K IND 392
Chandrasekaran M IND 195

Electoral History and Background

In the 2011 assembly elections, D. Haridoss of AIADMK party defeated PMK party after getting 80553 votes. AIADMK won the constituency also in the previous assembly elections. DMK has won the constituency thrice in the previous assembly elections. The constituency has been in the stronghold of the Indian National Congress five times. The ADMK party has won the constituency once during the 2001 assembly elections.

This constituency is a town and municipality in the Villipuram district. The principal occupation in this region is agriculture.