Thuraiyur Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Thuraiyur legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BSP and BSP.

In the last parliamentary elections in 2014, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK candidate P. Kumar a good lead of around 150476 votes. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the general election of 2014.

Banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK, the DMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency, the AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes.

Thuraiyur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Stalinkumar .S DMK Won
Maivizhi .A AIADMK 73376
Sujadevi .L.R VCK 6281
None of the Above None of the Above 2441
Sathya .S Naam Tamilar Katchi 1532
Santha Selvi .S BSP 658
Vinoth .N IND 650
Anandhan .V IJK 577
Alagesan .P UCPI 576
Srinivasan .J IND 504
Raju .A IND 502
Manokaran .P IND 361
Karupaiyan .C Gandhiya Makkal Iyakkam 235
Vijayagobi .T LJP 192

Electoral History and Background

In the 2011 assembly elections, Indraganthi T of the AIADMK party won the seat from this constituency defeating Parimala Devi S of the DMK party with 75228 votes.

Thuraiyur is a taluk in the Tiruchirapalli district. It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which primarily agricultural related voters that will decide the verdict.