Thousand Lights Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

This constituency is a strong hold of the DMK party. DMK has won the constituency in the assembly elections of 2006, 2001, 1996, 1989, 1977, 1971 and 1967. The 2011 assembly election got out of the grip of DMK and the AIADMK won with 67522 votes.

The DMK was defeated in a straight fight. The ADK has won the constituency thrice in the assembly elections of 1991, 1984 and 1980.

Thousand -Lights Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Selvam Ku. Ka DMK Won
Valarmathi B AIADMK 52897
Shivalingam M BJP 8516
Ambigapathy C MDMK 7805
Rangan V PMK 3968
None of the Above None of the Above 3633
Murugesan Naam Tamilar Katchi 2075
Elango M YSP 506
Jaffer Sadik J IND 184
Dhananjayan T S IND 174
Mogan Kumar S P IND 143
Murugan S IND 141
Selvam T IND 121
Arunthathi Ramachandran IND 93
Selvam R IND 68
Manikandan A IND 61
Kumar K IND 56
Ramesh A IND 50
Santhakumar K IND 40
Selvam P IND 39
Iyyanar C IND 38
Gokulakrishnan E IND 35
Karthik D IND 34

One of the legislative assemblies in chennai is Thousand Lights. This constituency is part of Chennai central. It is populate by mostly muslims. There are major places to worship for muslims in this place. Muslims also govern the working class in this region.