Thoothukkudi Assembly Election 2016

Thoothukudi legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BSP, LSP, JMM and JDU.

In the last parliamentary elections in 2014, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK candidate Jeyasingh Thiyagaraj Natterjee a good lead of around 124002 votes. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the general election of 2014.

Banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK, the DMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency, the AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes.

Thoothukkudi Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Fatima MDMK 17798
Kanagaraj.M.R. BJP 6250
Maria Judy Hema.P. Naam Tamilar Katchi 3733
None of the Above None of the Above 3177
Chinnadurai.M. PMK 1069
Esakki Raja.K. AIFB 806
Sivalinga Raja.V. BSP 439
Antony Mykel Hemildon Tamilaga Sthabana Congress 370
Anusuya.M. IND 190
Lakshmi Narayanan.L.K. SHS 180
Moorthy.C. IND 173
Alwarsamy Karthikeyan.L. IND 121

It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which primarily salt pan labourers, fishermen, shipping workers, chemical industry labourers and agricultural related voters will decide the verdict.

S.T Chellapandian of the AIADMK party won the constituency in the assembly elections of the year 2011 getting 89010 votes. The party closely on its tail was DMK with 62817 votes.

This constituency comes under the district of Thoothukudi. Its major revenue comes from Tutocorin port and the Madurai-Tuticorin Industrial Corridor.