Thondamuthur Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Thondamuthur legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BJP, INC, SPDI and LSI.

In the last parliamentary elections in 2014, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK candidate C. Mahendran a good lead of around 140974 votes. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the general election of 2014.

Banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK, the DMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency, the AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes.

It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which primarily agricultural related voters will decide the verdict.

Thondamuthur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Velumani,S.P. AIADMK Won
Kovai Syed Alias Syed Mohammed,M.A. MAMAK 45478
Karumuthu Thiyagarajan,M. BJP 19043
Thiyagarajan,K. DMDK 7968
Anshar Sheriff,A. SDPI 3643
None of the Above None of the Above 3248
Vairavel,S.R. KMDK 3005
Anandharaj,R. Naam Tamilar Katchi 2408
Vidiyal Jaganathan,V. PMK 1315
Syed Mohammed,S.I. IND 561
Balathandapani,S. WPI 501
Sathish Mallar,N. TMMK 472
Sampathkumar,V. IND 439
Ansari Alias Mohammed Ansari IND 431
Muthukumar,M. SHS 409
Bramma Nayagam, U. Gandhiya Makkal Iyakkam 261
Ramasamy,K. IND 227
Panneer Selvam,(Dr).M. IND 172

Electoral History and Background

In the assembly elections of 2011, Velumani S P of AIADMK party won the constituency with 99886 votes. The DMK party has won this constituency thrice in the previous assembly elections. The ADK party has won this constituency four times. In the 2009 assembly elections Indian National Congress won the constituency.

Thondamuthur is a suburb in the Coimbatore city. This assembly constituency is part of Pollachi Lok Sabha constituency.