Thiruvarur Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Thiruvarur legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BJP, BSP, MMK and IJK.

In the last assembly elections in 2011, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK a good lead. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the last assembly election.

The DMK, banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency. The AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes. It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which different categories of people will decide the verdict.

Thiruvarur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Raajendran V G DMK Won
Baskaran A AIADMK 75335
Balayogi V PMK 31935
Balasubramani A VCK 7006
Prem Sekar M BSP 2171
Srinivasan K BJP 1826
Senthil Kumar K Naam Tamilar Katchi 1451
Baskar A IND 796
Shankar K Vijaya Bharatha Makkal (People) Par 703
Bala Krishnan N IND 572
Rajeev B IND 418
Anandanayagi A LJP 417
Murugan S IND 415
Srinivasan V IND 289
Baskar M IND 202
Sathish B Vidiyalai Thedum Indhiyargal Party 172
Sivanantham R IND 149
Anburaj P IND 138
Rajendiran D IND 128
Panneerselvam T N IND 125
Radhakrishnan D IND 105

Electoral History and Background

Thiruvarur Assembly Constituency is unreserved constituency in the district that goes by the same name. It is part of Nagapattinam Lok Sabha constituency. The Nagapattinam Lok Sabha constituency is reserved for scheduled castes.

According to the Election Commission of India, Thiruvarur has 2, 09,530 registered voters. It comprises 1, 04,961 male and 1, 04,565 female registered voters.

In the 2011 assembly elections, the DMK got a resounding victory in this constituency. With a winning margin of 50,249 votes, it managed to retain the Thiruvarur seat for the fourth consecutive term.

DMK patron M. Karunanidhi was the winning candidate bagging 1, 09,014 votes. His nearest opponent, Rajendran M. of AIADMK, got 58,765 votes. The voter turnout was an impressive 82.69 %.