Thiruvallur Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Thiruvallur legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BJP, BSP, RJD and PMK.

In the last parliamentary elections in 2014, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK candidate P. Venugopal a good lead of around 323430 votes. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the general election of 2014.

Banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK, the DMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency, the AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes.

It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which primarily Industrial workers and labourers are the related voters will decide the verdict.

Thiruvallur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Durai.Chandrasekaran DMK Won
M.G.M.Subramanian AIADMK 85700
V.Jeevakumar CPM 8604
K.R.Shanmugham Naam Tamilar Katchi 1806
R.Kanakaraj PMK 1571
T.Kamaraj TMMK 1161
S.Simiyon Xavierraj IJK 1072
A.Mohanraj IND 566
R.Rajkumar IND 520

Electoral History and Background

The AIADMK won this constituency during the assembly elections of 2011 under the leadership of Ramana B.V with 91337 votes. The DMK party was notlagging far behind with 67689 votes.

The Assembly constituency of Thiruvalluvar was formed after the 2008 delimitation. It is also a Lok Sabha constituency that was formed after merging the assembly segments of Gummidipoondi, Ponneri (SC), Tiruvallur and Poonamallee (SC).