Thiruvaiyaru Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Thiruvaiyaru legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BJP, BSP and IJK.

In the last assembly elections in 2011, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK a good lead. The current MLA of the constituency is M Rethinasami from AIADMK. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the last assembly election.

The DMK, banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency. The AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes. It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which different categories of people will decide the verdict.

Thiruvaiyaru Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Adalarasan. P DMK Won
Umamaheswari. K AIADMK 58877
Ulaganathan. K CPI 33038
Udayakumar. G BJP 3937
Rajamohan. S PMK 2005
Saravanakumar. J.S Naam Tamilar Katchi 1844
Ayyappan. T TMMK 870
Murugesan. R IND 368
Veerapandyan. R IND 339
Pughazhendi. R IND 284
Pasupathi. U IND 163

Electoral History and Background

Thiruvaiyaru is a state assembly constituency is in existence since 1957 election. In 2011 M. Rethinasamy of AIADMK had won this seat.