Thiruporur Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Thiruporur legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BJP, BSP, PMK and PBM.

In the last parliamentary elections in 2014, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK candidate K. Maragatham a good lead of around 146866 votes. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the general election of 2014.

Banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK, the DMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency, the AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes.

Thiruporur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Seenivel S M AIADMK Won
Manimaran M DMK 70461
Kandasamy K CPI 15275
Arumugam S BJP 7698
Mohan M AIFB 1277
Balamurugan K PMK 1237
Russia O IND 917
Muthukrishnan S ETMK 905
Alagarsamy M MMKA 544
Premnath M S IND 355
Jegadeesh Kumar R IND 333
Velmurugan G SAMAKA 331
Kalimuthu A UCPI 315
Santhi Poojan K SHS 302
Durairajan N IND 259
Balasubramanian T AMMK 182
Prabakaran S AIJMK 159
Santhi V LJP 137
Mohan S IND 135
Deepakkumar M IND 94

Electoral History and Background

K. Manoharan of the AIADMK party won the constituency in the assembly elections of 2011.All the parties were defeated; the closest on the trail was K. Arumugam of the PMK party.

Thiruporur constituency is a town in the Kanchipuram district. It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which primarily industry and farm labourers voters will decide the verdict.