Thiruparankundram Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Thiruparankundram legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BJP, BSP, INC and JMM.

In the last assembly elections in 2011, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK a good lead. The current MLA of the constituency is AKT Raja from DMDK. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the last assembly election.

The DMK, banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency. The AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes. It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which different categories of people will decide the verdict.

Thiruparankundram Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Regupathy S DMK Won
Vairamuthu Pk AIADMK 71607
Chidambaram Pl.A TMC(M) 5096
Kanakarethinam M Naam Tamilar Katchi 2323
Vadamalai P BJP 2262
Suresh A PMK 950
Rameshkumar K IND 760
Durai Rajan M IND 596
Gopal R IND 309
Arimalam Thiyagi Subramanian Muthu IND 159
Palanichamy P TMMK 129
Palanisamy A TVK 90

Electoral History and Background

Thiruparankundram assembly constituency is a town in Madurai district. According to 2011 census, Thiruparankundram had a population of 48,810 with a sex-ratio of 999 females for every 1,000 males. Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes accounted for 7.44% and .66% of the population respectively.

The average literacy of the town was 79.55%. As per the religious census of 2011, Thiruparankundram had 91.79% Hindus, 3.62% Muslims, 4.46% Christians, 0.01% Sikhs and 0.11% following other religions.