Thiru. Vi. Ka. Nagar Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Thiru Vi Ka Nagar legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BJP, BSP, INC, LJP and IJK.

In the last assembly elections in 2011, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK a good lead. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the last assembly election.

The DMK, banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency. The AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes. It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which different categories of people will decide the verdict.

Thiru-Vi-Ka-Nagar Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Chezhiaan.Govi DMK Won
Settu.U AIADMK 77006
Madahaiyan.R.S PMK 13709
Vivekanandan.S VCK 10622
None of the Above None of the Above 1899
Sulochanadevi.R Naam Tamilar Katchi 1437
Vasudevan.S BJP 1321
Madhan.A BSP 539
Manoharan.G IND 495
Senthil Kumar.R IND 142
Uthirapathi.G IND 117
Indra.U IND 104

Electoral History and Background

TVK Nagar or Thiru Vi Ka Nagar or Thiru. V. Kalyanasundaram Nagar is named after the Tamil scholar Thiru. V. Kalyanasundaram. Thiru. Vi. Ka. Nagar assembly constituency is reserved for members of Schedule Caste. It is newly formed constituency after delimitation of 2008. It is included in the Chennai North parliamentary constituency. In 2011 assembly election V. Neelakandan of AIADMK got 72887 votes and emerged as victorious. Dr. C. Natesan of INC got 43546 votes.