Thanjavur Assembly Election 2016

The Election Commission (EC) decided to postpone polling in Thanjavur Assembly constituency to June 13 instead of holding it on May 23 as scheduled earlier. The Election Commission took the decision following large-scale distribution of money among voters to this constituency.

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results

Current Trend

Thanjavur legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BJP, BSP, LCP and IJK.

In the last parliamentary elections in 2014, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK candidate K. Parasuraman a good lead of around 144119 votes. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the general election of 2014.

Banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK, the DMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency, the AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes.

It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which primarily silk weavers and Agricultural related voters will decide the verdict.

Thanjavur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Electoral History and Background

In the assembly elections of 2011 the AIADMK party under the leadership of M.Rengasamy won the constituency with 75415 votes. The DMK party has won this constituency seven times in the assembly elections. During the assembly elections of 1967 Indian National Congress won the constituency.

Thanjavur is a pilgrimage and tourist destination famous for art and architecture. Mostly the inhabitants of the city are dependent on tourism and service related activity. Agriculture is the principal occupation here.