Thalli Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Thalli legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BSP, BJP and CPI.

In the last assembly elections in 2011, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK a good lead. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the last assembly election.

The DMK, banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency. The AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes. It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which different categories of people will decide the verdict.

Royapuram Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Prakaash,Y. DMK Won
Ramachandran,T. CPI 68184
Nagesh,C. AIADMK 31415
Arunrajan,D. PMK 5253
Ramachandran,B. BJP 2908
Hari,V. IND 1722
Roselin,R. NCP 958
Pandu UCPI 704
Abubekar IND 485
Tamilselvan,S. Naam Tamilar Katchi 433
Vindhai Vendhan IND 409

Electoral History and Background

Thally or Thalli is an assembly constituency in Krishnagiri district. It has popularly remembered as "Little England" named so by the British during their regime mostly due of its cool weather. In Thally block total of 50 Panchayat villages are there.

Thally is identified as the backward block in the district due to its hilly nature, poor infrastructure and socio-economic background of the people in the region. This region was affected by Naxals till 1990 which hindered the progress of the block. Thalli region is now Naxal free. Industries have started coming to Thally block since 1991.

In 2011 assembly election T. Ramachandran Communist Party of India won the seat polling 74353 votes while his rival Y. Prakaash of DMK got 67918 votes.