Tenkasi Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Tenkasi legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BJP, BSP and ABHM.

In the last parliamentary elections in 2014, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK candidate M. Vasanthi a good lead of around 161774 votes. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the general election of 2014.

Banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK, the DMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency, the AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes.

It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which primarily Agricultural related voters will decide the verdict.

Royapuram Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Selvamohandas Pandian S AIADMK Won
Palani Nadar S INC 85877
Selvi B BJP 11716
Charles N.D.S TMC(M) 7324
Muthukumar C Naam Tamilar Katchi 2898
Madasamy A IND 1621
Seetharaman P PMK 1222
Periya Durai P AIFB 885
Uthami K IND 562
Chelladurai T TMMK 489
Reegankumar M IND 451

Electoral History and Background

Sarath Kumar.R of the AIADMK won the constituency in the assembly elections of 2011 getting 92253 votes leaving behind other parties the closest was DMK party with 69286 votes. The DMK party has only won twice in this constituency. The Indian National congress has totally won this constituency five times. It has won three times consecutively in the 1984, 1989 and1991 assembly elections. Trinamool Congress has been victorious once during the 1996 assembly elections. The ADK party has also won this constituency once during the 1980 assembly elections.

Tenkasi is a constituency in the Tirunelveli district. It is the second largest town in Tirunelveli district. Majority of the population is agriculture dependent.