Thyagaraya Nagar Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Thyagaraya Nagar legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BJP, BSP, INC and IJK.

In the last assembly elections in 2011, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK a good lead. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the last assembly election.

The DMK, banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency. The AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes. It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which different categories of people will decide the verdict.

Electoral History and Background

Thyagaraya Nagar is the legislative assembly that includes the locality, T. Nagar, which is located in the southern part of Chennai. Thyagaraya Nagar assembly constituency is part of Chennai South Lok Sabha constituency. The constituency is in existence since 1957 election. In 2011 assembly election V. P. Kalairajan of AIADMK won this seat.