Srirangam Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Srirangam legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BSP, BJP, INC and IJK.

In the last assembly elections in 2011, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK a good lead. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the last assembly election.

The DMK, banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency. The AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes. It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which different categories of people will decide the verdict.

Srirangam Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Valarmathi.S AIADMK Won
Palaniyandi.M DMK 93991
Rajeshkumar.A BJP 5988
Pushpam.V CPI 5646
None of the Above NOTA 4110
Rajamanickam.V Naam Tamilar Katchi 3095
Umamaheshwari.S PMK 1548
Rajendran.Ps TMMK 791
Packiaraj.S IND 337
Settu.S.M. IND 296
Ravi.P IND 273
Veeramalai.A IND 233
Periyasamy.A BSP 214
Periyasamy.M IND 168
Ravichandran.P IND 152
Gnanasekaran,M KMDK 147

Electoral History and Background

Srirangam (formerly Vellithirumutha gramam) and Thiruvarangam in Tamil is temple town and a part of the city of Tiruchirapalli. By polls was held in Srirangam in 2015 following sitting MLA J Jayalalithaa’s conviction in the disproportionate assets case. In 2015 by polls S. Valarmathi of AIADMK won the seat polling 151561 votes. N Anand of DMK got 55045 votes.