Sholingur Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Sholingur legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BJP, INC, AIJK and PBM.

In the last parliamentary elections in 2014, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK candidate G. Hari a good lead of around 240766 votes. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the general election of 2014.

Banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK, the DMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency, the AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes.

Sholingur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results

Electoral History and Background

P.R.Manokar of DMDK party won the constituency in the assembly elections of the year 2011. In the previous assembly elections the INC party was victorious. The ADK party has won this constituency three times consecutively. The DMK party has won this constituency only one in the assembly elections of 1967. ADMK has won this constituency once in the assembly elections of 2001.

The constituency of Sholinghur is a town under Walajapet taluk in Vellore district. This is a developed town with various industries. It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which primarily industrial workers and agricultural related voters will decide the verdict.