Sattur Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Sattur legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BSP and IJK.

In the last parliamentary elections in 2014, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK candidate T. Radhakrishnan a good lead of around 145551 votes. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the general election of 2014.

Banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK, the DMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency, the AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes.

It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which primarily Industrial Labourers and agricultural related voters will decide the verdict.

Sattur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results

Electoral History and Background

R.B.Uthayakuma of AIADMK party won this constituency in the assembly elections of 2011 getting 88918 votes. DMK has won this constituency four times. The ADK party has won this constituency three times consecutively. In the assembly elections of the year 1967 and 1971 SWA and FBL party won.

This constituency of Sattur is in the Virudhanagar district . There are 8 taluks in the constituency namely, Aruppukkottai, Kariapatti, Rajapalayam, Sattur, Sivakasi, Srivilliputhur, Tiruchuli and Virudhunagar.