Ponneri Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Ponneri legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BJP, BSP and PBM.

In the last parliamentary elections in 2014, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK candidate P. Venugopal a good lead of around 323430 votes. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the general election of 2014.

Banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK, the DMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency, the AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes.

It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which agricultural related voters will decide the verdict.

Ponneri Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
P balaram AIADMK Won
Parimalam K Doctor DMK 76643
Pandian A PMK 9586
Senthil Kumar V VCK 5566
None of the Above NOTA 2284
Ganesan K BJP 2067
Vinoth Babu S Naam Tamilar Katchi 1620
Raja S BSP 1152
Kotteeswaran K YSP 696
Rukumangadan L IND 640
Dilli Babu V IND 536
Sudhakaran H IND 383
Elayaraja R IND 213
Srinivasan E IND 181
Sathish Raja M IND 102

Electoral History and Background

Pon. Raja of the AIADMK party won the constituency in the assembly elections of the year 2011 getting 93624 votes. In the previous assembly elections of the year 2006 also the same party was victorious. The ADK party has won four times in this constituency including three times consecutively. DMK party has won four times here.

Ponneri taluk comes under the district of Tiruvallur district. Ponneri is going to be developed as a smart city.