Periyakulam Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Periyakulam legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BJP, BSP, CPI(M) and TMMK.

In the last parliamentary elections in 2014, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK candidate R. Parthipan a good lead of around 314532 votes. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the general election of 2014.

Banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK, the DMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency, the AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes.

It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which Horticultural Labours and agriculture related voters will decide the verdict.

Periyakulam Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results

Electoral History and Background

In the 2011 assembly elections A. Laser of CPM party won the constituency, defeating the DMK party with 76687 votes. In the previous assembly elections of 2006 the AIADMK party won the constituency. The DMK party has won this constituency four times in the past assembly elections. The ADK party has also won here fours previously in assembly elections. The ADMK party has won this constituency once in 2001 assembly elections.

This constituency comes under Theni district .There are number of tourism places and pilgrimage places.