Perambur Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Perambur legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BJP, BSP, JMM and IJK.

In the last parliamentary elections in 2014, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK candidate T. G. Venkatesh Babu a good lead of around 99704 votes. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the general election of 2014.

Banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK, the DMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency, the AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes.

It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which primarily railway employees and middle class people are related voters will decide the verdict.

Perambur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results

Electoral History and Background

There has been a clean sweep in the last three elections by the CPI. The candidates were Soundarajan A, Mahendran K and again Mahendran K. DMK has won from 1967 onwards to 1989. In 1996 the DMK won the constituency again.

Perambur is the legislative assembly includes Perambur city. This assembly constituency was a part of Chennai North in the Lok Sabha constituency. This seat is reserved for SC candidates.