Palani Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Palani legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BJP, BSP and LSP.

In the last parliamentary elections in 2014, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK candidate M. Udhayakumar a good lead of around 127845 votes. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the general election of 2014.

Banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK, the DMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency, the AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes.

It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which primarily Palani temple workers and Agricultural related voters will decide the verdict.

Palani Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Senthilkumar I P DMK Won
Kumarasamy P AIADMK 74459
Rajamanickam V CPM 9687
Kanagaraj N BJP 4092
None of the Above NOTA 1460
Kyzer A SDPI 1370
Vinoth Rajasekaran G Naam Tamilar Katchi 876
Sivakumar T IND 594
Nagendran P BSP 587
Madurai Veeran K A IND 580
Maheswaran P IND 572
Nagarajan B PMK 490
Chinnaraj A IND 445
Mohamed Jabbar M IND 348
Sickander K IND 345
Sirajdeen N IND 343
Krishnamoorthi R KMDK 224
Sundaram C IND 184
Manoharan K IND 152
Ravi Paul G ICF 124
Thangapandiyan R IND 107
Kaja A IND 103
Muthu Karuppanan M IND 95

Electoral History and Background

In the 2011 assembly elections AIADMK party won this constituency under the leadership of K.S.N. Venugopalu defeating the DMK party candidate. The winner got 82051 votes and the defeated party got 80297 votes. The DMK party won this constituency four times in the previous assembly elections. The Indian National Congress has won this constituency once in the 1984 elections.

Palani is a town in the Dindigul district. The Palani Murugan temple is famous for more than religious reasons. It is dedicated the Hindu war god Kartikeya, it is situated on a hill. The temple of Lord Murugan is visited by 7 million pilgrims each year. This region derives its main revenue from the pilgrimage of tourists.