Nilakkottai Assembly Election 2016

Nilakkottai legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BSP and IJK.

In the last parliamentary elections in 2014, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK candidate M. Udhayakumar a good lead of around 127845 votes. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the general election of 2014.

The DMK, banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency. The AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes. It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which different categories of people will decide the verdict.

NilakkottaiAssembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results

Nilakottai assembly constituency is reserved for Scheduled Caste. It is a town in is a town in Dindigul district. In 2011 assembly constituency A.Ramasamy of Puthiya Tamilakam (PT) got 75124 votes and emerged as winner, runner up was K. Rajangam of Congress ( INC) with 50410 votes.

Nilakkottai had a population of 19,630. Males constitute 50% of the population and females 50%. Nilakkottai has an average literacy rate of 71%, higher than the national average of 59.5%: male literacy is 76%, and female literacy is 66%.