Mylapore Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Mylapore legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BJP, INC and LJP.

In the last assembly elections in 2011, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK a good lead. The current MLA of the constituency is R.Rajalakshmi from AIADMK. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the last assembly election.

The DMK, banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency. The AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes. It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which different categories of people will decide the verdict.

Mylapore Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Nataraj R AIADMK Won
Karate R.Thiagarajan INC 53448
Nagarajan K BJP 11720
Suresh Kumar N PMK 5806
Munavar Basha A.S TMC(M) 4753
Sudhakar.S. Naam Tamilar Katchi 2356
Sathyaa Durrairajh IND 1764
K.R.Ramaswamy IND 1229
Sathyanarayanan .S. IND 1017
Sivakumar R IND 418
Balaji V BSP 329
Anand N IND 197
Dhananjayan T.S IND 180
Sheela S IND 171
Govindarajulu.M. YSP 127
Kuppal G.Devadoss IND 86
Loganathan IND 79
Mohanraj J JJ 77
Jebamani E PPI (S) 67
Joshua Gerard IND 58
Arunraj Balan IND 58
Ramadoss. P. IND 51
Shanmuga Rajan IND 45
Balakrishnan IND 27

Electoral History and Background

Mylapore is a legislative assembly constituency in the Indian state of Tamil Nadu. Mylapore assembly constituency is part of Chennai South (Lok Sabha constituency). It is one of the oldest residential parts of the city. The population of Mylapore is estimated to be around 300,000. In 2011 assembly election, R. Rajalakshmi of AIADMK won this seat.