Manamadurai Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Manamadurai legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BJP and BSP

In the last parliamentary elections in 2014, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK candidate P.R. Senthilnathan a good lead of around 225144 votes. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the general election of 2014.

Banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK, the DMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency, the AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes.

It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which primarily SIPCOT Labours, Horticultural workers and Agricultural Labours are the related voters will decide the verdict.

Manamadurai Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results

Electoral History and Background

In the assembly election contested in the year 2011, the AIADMK party won the constituency under M Gunasekaran getting 83535 votes. In the 2006 assembly elections the AIADMK party was victorious. The DMK party has won this constituency twice in the past assembly elections. The INC party had won the constituency once during the elections of 1984. The IND party had won the constituency in the assembly election of 1980.

The constituency of Manamadurai is located in the Sivaganga district. The Holy Panchpeer (Anjananmar) dargah is a popular Islamic shrine located here. Many Muslims throng here year after year. Agriculture remains the main occupation of some of the inhabitants.