Maduravoyal Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Maduravoyal legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BJP, BSP, PMK, IJK and JMM.

In the last parliamentary elections in 2014, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK candidate T. G. Venkatesh Babu a good lead of around 99704 votes. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the general election of 2014.

Banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK, the DMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency, the AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes.

It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which primarily Middle Class People and industrial labourers are the related voters will decide the verdict.

Maduravoyal Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Benjamin P AIADMK Won
Rajesh R INC 91337
Beemrao G CPM 19612
Srinivasan N V PMK 17328
Vasu M Naam Tamilar Katchi 6181
Anandapriya R IJK 4582
Mohamed Abbas S BSP 807
Dhanasekar A YSP 549
Ganapathy Suresh IND 503
Rajesh C IND 430
Srirangarayan G KMDK 274
Srinivasan K V IND 269
Ravi C V IND 173
Arun Kumar R IND 158

Electoral History and Background

In the assembly of 2011 elections G. Beem Rao of CPM had won this seat. There was a turnout of 69% of voters from this constituency.

Maduravoyal is located in the West of Chennai. As of 2011 the population of Maduravoyal is below 90,000. There was noticeable improvement in various parts of this constituency because of the creation of Maduravoyal junction. The development process hastened once the flyover became operational here.