Madurai(Central) Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Madurai Central legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BJP, BSP, PBM and JMM.

In the last parliamentary elections in 2014, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK candidate R. Gopalkrishnan a good lead of around 197436 votes. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the general election of 2014.

Banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK, the DMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency, the AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes.

It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which primarily Agricultural Labours, horticultural workers and industrial labourers are the related voters will decide the verdict.

Madurai-central Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Sudharsanam S DMK Won
Dhakshnamoorthy D AIADMK 106829
Eraviraj G PMK 14245
Kannan A S CPI 9383
Janakiraman R M R BJP 5161
Elumalai R Naam Tamilar Katchi 3697
Giri C BSP 829
Gopi M YSP 573
Janakiraman S CPI(ML)(L) 393
Nandakumar P IND 312
Vinothkumar P The Future India Party 303
Nagaraj S IND 256
Rajasekaran M IND 132
Satheesh S IND 123
Sureshkumar S IND 109

Electoral History and Background

In the assembly elections of 2011, R Sundarrajan of DMDK party won the constituency with 76063 votes. DMDK part defeated the DMK party who got 56503 votes. DMK has won the constituency five times in the previous assembly elections. During the first assembly elections in the year 1967 the DMK part won the constituency.

Madurai is a major city and the cultural headquarter in Tamil Nadu. It is the second largest city by area and the third largest city by population. Historically it has been the academic centre of learning for Tamil culture, literature, art, music and dance. There are various temples in Madurai showcasing the culture and art of Tamil Nadu.