Lalgudi Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Lalgudi legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BSP, BJP and IJK.

In the last assembly elections in 2011, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK a good lead. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the last assembly election.

The DMK, banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency. The AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes. It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which different categories of people will decide the verdict.

Lalgudi Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Soundarapandian A DMK 76740
Vijayamurthy M AIADMK 73610

Electoral History and Background

Lalgudi assembly constituency is one of the oldest constituencies that exist from 1952 onwards). From the year of 2009 Lalgudi assembly constituency is part of Perambalur Lok Sabha constituency. In 2011 A. Soundara Pandian of DMK won this seat.