Kurinjipadi Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Kurinjipadi legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BJP and BSP.

In the last parliamentary elections in 2014, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK candidate A. Arunmozhithevan a good lead of around 203125 votes. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the general election of 2014.

Banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK, the DMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency, the AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes.

It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls which primarily handloom weavers and agricultural labourers related voters will decide the verdict.

Kurinjipadi Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Panneerselvam Mrk DMK 30091
Rajendran R AIADMK 22438

Electoral History and Background

The place is not new to electoral storm. The DMK storm has cleanly swept Kurinjipadi except for the years 2011, 1991, 1984 and 1980. R Rajendran of the AIADMK is the sitting MLA from this constituency. ADK has won during the years 1980, 1984 and 1991.

Kurinjipadi is a taluk in the Cuddalore district. Cuddalore being a harbour has brought lot of development to Kurinjipadi. The place is popular for its handloom products since the 18th century. Handloom weaving and Agriculture and are the twin source of revenue in this area.