Kunnam Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Kunnam legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BSP, BJP, RJD, LJP and IJK.

In the last assembly elections in 2011, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK a good lead. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the last assembly election.

The DMK, banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency. The AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes. It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which different categories of people will decide the verdict.

Kunnam Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
R.T.Ramachandran AIADMK 78218
Durairaj T DMK 59422

Electoral History and Background

Kunnam is a state assembly constituency is newly formed after constituency delimitations 2008. It is included in the Chidambaram parliamentary constituency. Kunnam assembly constituency is in Perambalur district. The headquarters of the taluk is the town of Kunnam.

In 2011 assembly election S. Sivasankar of DMK won this seat polling 81723 votes. His nearest rival was Durai.Kamaraj of DMDK who got 58766 votes

According to the 2011 census, the taluk of Kunnam had a population of 253,818 with 126,525 males and 127,293 females. There were 1006 women for every 1000 men. The taluk had a literacy rate of 64.2.