Kumarapalayam Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Kumarapalayam legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BSP, UMK, CPI (M) and IJK.

In the last assembly elections in 2011, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK a good lead. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the last assembly election.

The DMK, banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency. The AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes. It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which different categories of people will decide the verdict.

Kumarapalayam Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Thangamani P AIADMK 71736
Yuvaraj P DMK 36561

Electoral History and Background

Kumarapalayam is a Assembly Constituency in Namakkal District. It covers the majority of Pallipalayam Municipality & Komarapalayam Municipality. It is newly formed by separating Sankari & Tiruchengode constituencies, in the year of 2008. It is included in the Erode Parliamentary Constituency. It covers till Bhavani constituency in the North & Erode East with the river Kaveri as its Boundary. In 2011 P. Thangamani of AIADMK won this seat.