Krishnarayapuram Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Krishnarayapuram legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BJP, BSP, IJK and ABHM.

In the last parliamentary elections in 2014, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK candidate M. Thambidurai a good lead of around 195247 votes. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the general election of 2014.

Banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK, the DMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency, the AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes.

It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which primarily agricultural related voters will decide the verdict.

Krishnarayapuram Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Geetha , M. AIADMK 83977
Aiyyar , V. K. PT 48676

Electoral History and Background

Kamaraj.S of the AIADMK party won the constituency in the assembly elections of 2011. DMK party has totally won four times in this constituency including the assembly elections of 2006. ADMK party has won this constituency once in 2001 assembly elections. ADK party has won this constituency three times in the history of assembly elections. INC party has won this constituency two times in the previous assembly elections of 1980 and 1984.

The constituency of Krishnarayapuram is in Karur district. The economy of the district is mostly agro based.