Krishnagiri Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Krishnagiri legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BJP, INC and UMK.

In the last parliamentary elections in 2014, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK candidate K. Ashok Kumar a good lead of around 206591 votes. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the general election of 2014.

Banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK, the DMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency, the AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes.

It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which primarily mango cultivators and horticultural workers related voters will decide the verdict.

Krishnagiri Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Senguttuvan.T DMK 48753
Govindaraj AIADMK 46872

Electoral History and Background

In the 2011 assembly elections K.P.Munusamy of AIADMK won this constituency over the INC party with 89776 votes. The DMK party has won this constituency in total four times. The ADMK party has won this constituency once in 2001 assembly elections. The ADK party has won this constituency four times. In the 1967 assembly election the Indian National congress won this party.

This constituency is in Krishnagiri district. There are many industries widely spread across this region, agriculture also is the occupation of many people here.