Kilpennathur Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Kilpennathur legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BJP, BSP, IJK and LSP.

In the last parliamentary elections in 2014, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK candidate R. Vanaroja a good lead of around 168606 votes. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the general election of 2014.

Banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK, the DMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency, the AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes.

It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which primarily agricultural related voters will decide the verdict.

Kilpennnathur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Pitchandi K DMK 76203
Selvamani K AIADMK 49930

Electoral History and Background

In the assembly elections of 2011, A.K Aranganathan of AIADMK party won this constituency with 83663 votes defeating the DMK party.

This constituency is a panchayat town in the Tiruvanamalai district. Agriculture is the principal occupation in this town.