Killiyoor Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Killiyur legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BJP and INC.

In the last parliamentary elections in 2014, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK candidate Pon Radhakrishnan a good lead of around 128662 votes. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the general election of 2014.

Banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK, the DMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency, the AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes.

It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which primarily agricultural related voters will decide the verdict.

Killiyoor Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Rajesh Kumar S INC 77356
Pon. Vijayaragavan BJP 31061

Electoral History and Background

In the 2011assembly elections, John Jacob.S of the INC party won the constituency with 56932 votes defeating the BJP. In the previous elections of 2006 also INC was victorious in this constituency. The TMC (M) party has won this constituency twice in the assembly elections of 2001 and 1996. NCO has also won this constituency once. JNP has also won this constituency two times previously. In the 1989 assembly elections IND was victorious in this constituency.

This constituency comes under the jurisdiction of Kanyakumari district. Agriculture is the primary occupation in this region.