Kavundampalayam Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Kavundampalayam legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BJP, JMM and LSP.

In the last parliamentary elections in 2014, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK candidate S. Selvakumara Chinnayan a good lead of around 211563 votes. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the general election of 2014.

Banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK, the DMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency, the AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes.

It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which primarily handloom and power loom workers related voters will decide the verdict.

Kavundampalayam Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Arukutty, V.C. AIADMK 59443
Payya Gounder Alias Krishnan, R. DMK 51511

Electoral History and Background

In the 2011 assembly elections Arukutty V C of the AIADMK party won this constituency with 137058 votes. AIADMK did a clean sweep by leaving the DMK party totally hollow. The DMK party got defeated with 67798 votes.

Kaundampalayam is an assembly constituency that is part of Coimbatore parliamentary constituency. The principal occupation in this constituency is agriculture.