Kattumannarkoil Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Kattumannarkoil (SC) legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BSP, PBM, IJK and VCK.

In the 2011 assembly election the AIADMK emerged victorious. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the last assembly election.

The DMK is banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK and has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency. The AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes.

It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which primarily daily labourers and agricultural related voters will decide the verdict.

Kattumannarkoil Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Murugumaran.N AIADMK 46984
Thirumaavalavan.Thol VCK 46484
Manirathinem. Dr .K.I INC 36930

Electoral History and Background

The AIDMK party candidate N. Murugumaran won the Kattumannarkoil seat in 2011.

Kattumannarkoil (SC) assembly Constituency is located in Cuddalore district and is part of the Chidambaram Lok Sabha constituency. The legislative assembly has around 55 villages and the town panchayat has 18 wards that include the Kattumannarkoil city, Kattumannarkoil has a population of 22,683. Males constitute 51% of the population and females 49%. Kattumannarkoil has an average literacy rate of 76%, higher than the national average of 59.5%: male literacy is 82%, and female literacy is 71%. In Kattumannarkoil, 11% of the population is under 6 years of age.