Karaikudi Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Karaikudi legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BJP, BSP, INC and IJK.

In the last parliamentary elections in 2014, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK candidate P.R. Senthilnathan a good lead of around 225144 votes. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the general election of 2014.

Banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK, the DMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency, the AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes.

It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which primarily Agricultural labourers and small scale industrial labourers related voters will decide the verdict.

Karaikudi Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Ramasamy Kr INC 67043
Karpagam Ilango AIADMK 51470

Electoral History and Background

In the assembly elections of 2011, C T Palanichamy Cholan of AIADMK party won the constituency with 86104 votes. The DMK party has won in the past assembly elections three times. BJP party has won the constituency once in 200 elections. ADK party has won the constituency three times in the past assembly elections. The INC party won the constituency in the assembly elections of 2006. In the 1967 assembly elections SWA had won this constituency.

Karaikudi is a assembly constituency in the Sivaganga district of Tamil Nadu. It is declared as a heritage town by Government of Tamil Nadu on account of the massive palatial houses built here. Karaikudi is a major shipping port. Its main revenue comes from shipping services.