Kangayam Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Kangayam legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BJP, BSP and INC.

In the last parliamentary elections in 2014, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK candidate V. Sathyabama a good lead of around 179315 votes. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the general election of 2014.

Banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK, the DMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency, the AIDMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes.

It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which coconut oil manufacturers and agricultural related voters will decide the verdict.

Kangayam Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Thaniyarasu U AIADMK 59489
Gopi P INC 51163
Thangavel G BSP -
Shanmugam V P Naam Tamilar Katchi -
Muthuvenkateshwaran K G DMDK -
Amirtavalli V PMK -
Rajendran B IND -
Rajandran P IND -
Senthilkumar S R IND -
Sukumaran N IND -
Sadhasivam K IND -
Kavinraja S IND -
Isreal R IND -
Ushadevi M BJP -
Poovathal IDMMK -

Electoral History and Background

Nataraj.Nsn of the AIADMK party won the constituency during the assembly elections of 2011 getting 96005 votes, the party closest on its tail was the Indian National Congress lagging behind with 54240 votes. In the last assembly elections of 2006 the Indian was victorious in the constituency. The ADK party has had a strong hold in this constituency winning it continuously in five assembly elections from 1977 to 1991.

Kangayam is a constituency in the Tiruporur district. The population of Kangayam is engaged in rice hulling, coconut oil extraction, Ghee production and the cultivation of groundnut.