Kanchipuram Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Kanchipuram legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BJP, BSP, INC and IJK.

In the last parliamentary elections in 2014, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK candidate K. Maragatham a good lead of around 146866 votes. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the general election of 2014.

Banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK, the DMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency, the AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes.

It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which primarily Brahmins, Agricultural labourers, handloom spinning, silk weaving, dyeing and industrial labourers related voters will decide the verdict.

Kanchipuram Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
C.V.M.P. Ezhilarasan DMK 74623
T.Mythili AIADMK 68364
C.Kanniappan BSP -
M.Usha Naam Tamilar Katchi -
S.Eagambaram DMDK -
P. Magesh Kumar PMK -
C.Ramesh IND -
P.Mohanasundaram IND -
E.Munusamy IND -
S.Tamilselvan IND -
D.Gnanamurthi IND -
L.Karunakaran IND -
M.Ekambaram IND -
T.Vasan BJP -
Dhenagaran Alias Dharma Dhenagaran Gandhiya Makkal Iyakkam -

Electoral History and Background

In the 2011 assembly elections V. Somasundaram of the AIADMK party won the constituency with 102710 votes. The DMK party has won this constituency four times in the past assembly elections. The ADK party has also won four times in the past assembly elections. The AIADMK party has won before in the assembly elections of 2005.

Kanchipuram is a newly formed constituency after the 2008 delimitation. This constituency is reserved for the Scheduled Castes (SC) candidates.