Kallakurichi Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Kallakurichi legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BSP, BJP, LJP, VCK and IJK.

In the last assembly elections in 2011, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK a good lead. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the last assembly election.

The DMK, banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency. The AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes. It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which different categories of people will decide the verdict.

Kallakurichi Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Prabhu A AIADMK 56593
Kamaraj P DMK 55055
Muthukrishnan M IND -
Mariyappan C Naam Tamilar Katchi -
Elayaperumal K IJK -
Ramamoorththy S VCK -
Senthamilselvi R PMK -
Ranganathan A IND -
Mannan M P IND -
Kamaraj M IND -
Ramar S LJP -

Electoral History and Background

Kallakurichi assembly constituency is reserved for the members of the Schedule Caste. It is included in the Kallakurichi Lok Sabha constituency. Kallakurichi assembly constituency was in existence from 1951 to 1971 state elections. It was converted into Chinna Salem constituency (Chinnasalem - A rice mill hub) in 1977 election. It again came into existence in 2011 election following the reorganization of constituencies in 2009. In 2011 assembly election K.Alaguvelu won the seat with 111249 votes. A.C.Pavarasu of VCK got 51251 votes.